Meal Prep Sunday

 

Haaaaaappy Monday everyone!

Okay, I know it’s not actually Sunday and I’ve titled this post Meal Prep Sunday, but bear with me. Now that I’m back in Kansas City and about to take on the start of a new semester and dietetic internship rotation (its clinical time… yikes), that means it’s also time to get back into MEAL PREP!! I normally do all/most of it on Sunday, but this week is a little different since my schedule isn’t set. I did some breakfast prep on Sunday and the rest will be done throughout the week, but I wanted to get in the habit of sharing.

A lot of people dabble with meal prepping, but it has become CRUCIAL for me. It is the easiest way for me to stay on track with a healthy lifestyle when the workload becomes intense, but it also keeps me on track with my budget (which is very tight because hi… grad school…). If I’m being honest, I’ve grown to love meal prep Sundays because what is better than spending time in the kitchen creating delicious, nutritious food that I can eat for the whole week?!

There are a million and one ways that you could meal prep, but it really depends on your own schedule and preferences. I’ve tried a lot of different methods, and I’m constantly fine tuning. Regardless, I ALWAYS find time to meal prep, even if it’s just planning a menu and not actually preparing the food ahead of time.

Let’s talk about that for a sec: planning. Meal prep is just as much, if not more, about the planning as the actual preparing of the food. I won’t go into too much detail about my extensive planning process, but I dedicate some quality time each week to planning out the meals before I go to the store and buy my groceries. Planning is key, especially if you want to stay within a budget.

So here’s what’s on the menu this week!

The Plan

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday
Breakfast -PB, banana, and chocolate protein/cauli oats

-Hard boiled egg

-Toast w/ egg

-Cottage cheese

-Apple

-PB, banana, and chocolate protein/cauli oats

-Hard boiled egg

-Toast w/ egg

-Cottage cheese

-Apple

-Toast w/ egg

-Cottage cheese

-Clementine

Lunch -Taco salad

-Clementine

-Taco salad

-Clementine

-Tuna sandwich

-Veggies

-Apple

-Maple glazed pork & roasted veggies

-Brown rice

-Clementine

-Salsa chicken

Stuffed pepper

-Brown rice

-Apple

Dinner -Lemon chicken & spaghetti squash -Maple glazed pork & roasted veggies -Lemon chicken & spaghetti squash -Salsa chicken stuffed pepper TBD

In the past, I have planned in snacks as well. I’ve decided to try to limit my snacking, so I’m no longer going to include snacks in  my weekly menu. However, I always have fresh fruit and other healthy snacks on hand for when hanger can’t be avoided.

Also, you’ll notice that I don’t have a meal planned for Friday night. This is because… well, its Friday night. I never really know what is going to happen on a Friday night, so I don’t make a meal just in case I have dinner plans or something. And then if I don’t go out, I usually would just make something with whatever I have left or go to the store and buy ingredients for a fun recipe.

The Prep

Breakfast

IMG_1398.jpg

I used my food processor to make some “cauliflower rice” to mix in with the overnight oats. Great way to disguise some veggies. You can’t even taste them!

IMG_1401.jpg

I honestly never use a recipe for my overnight oats, and I also don’t measure the ingredients. I just sorta eyeball it and wing it. Once you’ve made them enough times, you just kind of know how much of what stuff to put in. For a full list of what I added to my oats this week, see below under recipes!

IMG_1399.jpg

Hard boiled eggs are a staple for my breakfasts. Eggs are a great source of protein, and while I like them prepared almost any way, hard boiled is usually the easiest for busy mornings. They are also great to have on hand for snacks! To prepare, just place eggs in a sauce pan and add water just enough to cover the eggs. Then bring the water to a boil, turn off the heat, cover, and let sit for ~12 minutes. Talk about easy!

Dinner

IMG_1410.jpg

IMG_1411.jpg

IMG_1414.jpg

I have only tried spaghetti squash one other time before trying this recipe. I didn’t love it the first time, but I figured I would give a different recipe a try. This recipe was easy and delicious. I topped it with some grated parmesan cheese and scarfed it down… but it was so filling that I couldn’t even finish this whole bowl, which is really saying something. (The picture is deceiving… there is a lot more food there than meets the eye).

The Recipes

Overnight oats

Like I said above, I don’t use a recipe or measurements. I realize that’s very unhelpful if you have never made overnight oats before and have no idea how to prepare them, so here is a simple recipe from quaker oats to give you an idea of measurements. Their website has plenty of other recipe ideas too, but you can add whatever flavors/toppings/etc you desire!

Here are the ingredients I used in my creation this week:

  • Riced cauliflower
  • Oats
  • Mashed banana
  • Peanut butter
  • EAS chocolate protein powder
  • Trader Joe’s unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • Vanilla extract
  • Chia/flax blend
  • Honey

I usually use some yogurt too, but I didn’t have any this week. They turned out delicious!!

Lemon chicken and spaghetti squash 

Maple glazed pork and roasted veggies 


The rest of the items on my menu aren’t formal recipes, and they will just be a combination of older frozen leftovers and other foods I have in my fridge! For any questions about my meal prep/planning methods or recipes, don’t hesitate to leave a comment or contact me via the contact button at the top of the page.

Thanks so much for reading, and good luck everyone with your week ahead!

XO,

BFF

 

Leave a Reply

