Another Sunday, Another Meal Prep

 

You may or may not have noticed that I did not do a meal prep post last week. Don’t worry, I still did some prep but it wasn’t really worth posting about. First of all, I had friends from out of town come and stay with me for the weekend, so I spent a lot of money and didn’t have a lot of time or energy for extensive meal prep. Second of all, I started classes on Monday and have been trying to stay on top of everything, so I also didn’t have a lot of time and energy for writing a post about meal prep.

I kept it really simple and cheap last week but I want to give a quick overview so you can see what a less extensively planned meal prep looks like. I had a whole loaf of bread (Dave’s Killer Bread, my fave) in the freezer that I thawed, and I made sandwiches for lunch every day (egg salad or tuna). I paired that with raw veggies and fruit for a balanced meal. For dinners, I bought a poppyseed salad kit that lasted me for two days and added some leftover chicken thighs to that. Then for the other two dinners, I made some incredibly easy and delicious pork fried cauliflower rice. (Seriously the best thing, if you want the recipe just let me know).

Now that I’ve had plenty of time to recoup from last weekend, I made a kick booty menu for the week that I’m so excited to share. Here’s what we got:

The Plan

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday
Breakfast Overnight oats

Egg muffin

Toast

Hard boiled egg

Yogurt

Banana

Overnight oats

Egg muffin

Toast

Hard boiled egg

Yogurt

Banana

Overnight oats

Egg muffin

Lunch Pasta w/ meat sauce

Roasted carrots

Apple

Chicken fajitas

Corn tortillas

Clementine

Pasta w/ meat sauce

Roasted carrots

Apple

Chicken fajitas

Corn tortillas

Clementine

Leftovers

Apple

Dinner Chicken fajita

Salad

Burger lettuce wrap

Roasted carrots

Chicken fajita

Salad

Burger lettuce wrap

Roasted carrots

TBD

Nothing too fancy this week, just really basic recipes and trying to use up some stuff that I already had.

The Prep

Breakfast

IMG_1566.jpgIMG_1558.jpg

I was so excited to have an empty jar of nut butter to make my oats in instead of my usual mason jars! This batch pictured here was just a basic vanilla almond butter flavor that I will add some banana to in the morning. I also made two different flavors using frozen fruit. The egg muffins are so easy to make and can be stored in the fridge or freezer and quickly heated up in the morning for a breakfast on the go!

Lunch & Dinner

IMG_1564.jpgIMG_1562.jpgIMG_1567.jpg

(I apologize for my seriously below average camera skills). From left to right; EatBanza shells (pasta made from chickpeas! LOVE this stuff) topped with a homemade chicken meat sauce, fajitas, and burgers made with 100% grass fed beef. Yum! I forgot to take a picture of the roasted carrots but they turned out beautiful. I will throw the burgers into a lettuce wrap when I’m ready to eat them.

The Recipes

Overnight oats
Ingredients
Riced cauliflower
Oats
Almond milk
Plain fage greek yogurt
Vanilla
Chia/flax
Vanilla protein
Frozen fruit
Honey

Directions
1. Mix all ingredients and store in air tight container in fridge overnight.

Egg muffins
Ingredients
6 beaten eggs
~1/3 cup shredded cheese
6 slices cooked bacon

Directions
1. Mix all ingredients and pour evenly into 6 muffin tins. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.

Meat sauce
Ingredients
1/2 lb ground meat (I used chicken, you can use turkey or beef too)
½ onion, minced
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 jar pasta sauce

Directions
1. Cook meat and onions until meat is browned.
2. Add sauce, simmer for 15 minutes.

One Pan baked chicken fajitas
Ingredients
2 tsp chili powder
1 ½ tsp cumin
1 tsp paprika
½ tsp coriander
salt and pepper
2 chicken breasts, sliced
3 bell peppers, sliced
1 medium onion, sliced
2 cloves garlic, diced
3 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp fresh lime juice

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray a 17×12 inch rimmed baking sheet with non-stick cooking spray.
2. Mix together all seasoning and set aside.
3. Spread peppers, onions, and chicken on baking sheet and sprinkle garlic and seasoning over. Drizzle olive oil, toss to coat.
4. Roast 18-25 minutes, tossing halfway through.
5. Top with lime juice and preferred toppings.

Burger
Ingredients
½ egg
¼ tsp salt
¼ tsp pepper
½ pound ground beef
¼ cup bread crumbs
*minced onion

Directions
1. In a medium bowl, whisk together egg, salt, pepper.
2. Place beef and bread crumbs into mixture and mix with fork or hands until well blended.
3. Form into 2 patties. Place patties on grill or pan and cook 6-8 minutes until desired doneness.

**I actually finished my burgers in the oven at 350 for about 10-15 minutes because they were getting really charred on the outside but weren’t cooked through.


I’m not going to lie to you guys… meal prep this week took a helluva long time. I’m not mad about it though because I won’t have to do any cooking at all during the week and I mean HOW GOOD DOES THIS FOOD LOOK.

As always, please feel free to contact me if you have any questions about my recipes or prep; or just like/comment. Have a fantastic week friends!

XO,

BFF

 

One thought on “Another Sunday, Another Meal Prep

Leave a Reply

