Grey’s Anatomy Pt 2 Ft. the Power of Positivity

 

Wonderful clinical nutrition experience related to a positive attitude and hard work as evidenced by a happy dietetic intern.

Only my RD/dietetic intern/dietetic student friends out there will understand the significance of the above sentence. (Hint: it’s the “nutritional diagnosis” structure)

ANYWAY: As one of my best friends would always say: “Positive thoughts=Positive outcomes.” It’s so simple, but it could not hold more truth. I’m not totally sure when exactly I made this transition, but at some point in my life I became a very positive person. I wasn’t always like this, or at least I don’t think I was because even still, if someone were to ask me if I was a positive or negative person, I would feel naturally inclined to say negative. So I take that to mean that in the past, I really did have an overall negative outlook.

But things have changed, and a life of positivity is a wonderful life to live.

Now, don’t get me wrong… this is rather situational. Certainly there are situations in life where I’m not all “rainbows and butterflies” and I’m definitely not an over the top positive, cheerful human. I do, however, always try to look at the bright side of things (especially the important things) and find the good in any situation.

If you remember several weeks back, I wrote a pretty a negative article about my clinical dietetics experience thus far. I was three weeks in, and I was really starting to feel defeated and unmotivated, but I used all my energy to keep a positive attitude and, again, find the good in the situation.

So here I am, 13 weeks later with only one day left of my clinical dietetics rotation, and I feel like a completely different person than the one who wrote that first article. What I was feeling at that time was valid, but I didn’t let it get in the way of me getting as much as I possibly could out of this experience. In the beginning, I woke up each day and thought, “Okay, just have to get through 8 hours at that darn hospital.” As I started to change my mindset to waking up every single day ready to tackle the challenges, I started to feel something change in me. First, it presented itself as an increased level of comfort. Then, it was even more than that. Could it be… excitement?! Before I knew it, I was smiling as I drove myself to my rotation each morning, actually fully ready for the day ahead.

If you’re going to go through an experience or a situation anyway, you might as well do it with a positive mindset.

If you don’t choose positivity, you set yourself up for a lot more suffering than you deserve. I remember between my sophomore and junior year of college, the athletic department made a huge change that affected my dance team in a way that I viewed as unfavorable. Instead of taking it for what it was and making the best out of it, I held on to the frustration that it wasn’t what I wanted and the result was a miserable, angry year instead of a year spent appreciating the opportunities that I was given.

If you do choose positivity, you allow yourself to learn, grow, and evolve. In my current case, my mindset allowed me to solidify my understanding of the things that I already knew and add a whole new wealth of knowledge to the bank. My career interests and goals have not changed; I still want to work in a community-based setting, but I have confirmed for myself that I would not only survive if I did land a job at a hospital, but I would actually enjoy it.

So as I enter my last day of clinical dietetics, possibly ever, I close the page on this chapter with a satisfied smile. Now I only have three more short rotations of my dietetic internship before I no longer have to call myself an #RD2be, but instead will be able to claim the title RD!

Thanks for reading, and keep an eye out for a review of my whole internship experience at the end of the summer. 🙂

XO,

BFF

Leave a Reply

