Meal Prep: Week of 5/22/17

I haven’t really done a meal prep in a while because I have been off of school and internship rotations for a couple weeks, so there wasn’t really a need for it! I still have a significant amount of time off, but I wanted to get back to the swing of meal prepping just to keep me on track. With that being said, since I do still have a lot of flexibility in my schedule, I thought it would be a good time to try a new method of meal prepping. Instead of diligently planning each meal and using several specific recipes, I did more of a batch cooking type of prep for this week. I did come up with a few combinations and ideas for meals, but I don’t have a set “menu” like I normally do.

I also decided that I am going to try intermittent fasting this week and see how I feel/how it goes. I’ve been reading and hearing a lot about the benefits of fasting, so I thought I would give it a try. I’ll be doing the 16:8 version, where you fast for 16 hours and then eat during an 8 hour window. My plan is to have bulletproof coffee for “breakfast” every morning, then break the fast around 11:30-12 with lunch and then eat dinner around 5-6 and stop eating after that. I’m a huge night snacker so we’ll see how this goes.

The Plan

Like I said, I didn’t come up with a set menu, but instead I made a list of options that I can pick and choose from to make each of my meals:

Protein/Fats

  • Eggs
  • Grilled chicken
  • Green Chile Turkey Burgers
  • Avocado mousse spread
  • Nuts

Veggies

  • Roasted brussels
  • Rainbow baby carrots
  • Mini bell peppers
  • Lettuce (spring mix & butter)
  • Frozen broccoli

Carbs

  • Brown rice
  • Hummus
  • Fruit

The Prep

IMG_2204.jpgIMG_2205.jpgIMG_2206.jpg

The chicken I just marinated in some olive oil and salt & pepper and threw it on this George Foreman grill type thing that I’ve had FOREVER and haven’t used in ages. The turkey burgers I prepared using a recipe (see below) that was super simple and had very minimal ingredients. I cooked the burgers two ways: half pan fried with some olive oil and half on the grill. I just wanted to test both ways and see which is better. The grilled ones definitely turned out better as far as appearances go, but we’ll see how the taste and texture compares! I also hard boiled half of my eggs and left the other half raw for frying or scrambling.

IMG_2202.jpg

Brussels are slowly becoming one of my favorite veggies… especially when they are crispy and crunchy. I roasted up a whole bag of these today with just olive oil, salt, and pepper, but throughout the week I will reheat small servings of them in a pan with some oil and a variety of seasonings to get them hot and crispy and keep it interesting! The rest of the veggies I didn’t really “prep” because I will probably just eat them raw or quickly steam them before I eat them.

IMG_2207.jpg

The last thing that I prepped was a delectable avocado mousse type thing that I completely made up. You see, I’m trying to add more healthy fats to my diet, and avocado is one of the best sources. I do love avocado, but I unfortunately am not one of those people who can sit down with half an avocado every day and just eat it with a spoon. I wish I was, but if I eat too much plain avocado it makes me sick and then I have an avocado aversion for the next month. SO, I got creative. See recipe below 🙂

IMG_2211.jpg

From top left: mini peppers, hard boiled eggs, rainbow baby carrots, brown rice, roasted brussels, pan fried turkey burgers, organic garlic hummus, grilled turkey burgers, homemade avocado spread, grilled chicken breasts. Not pictured: apples, oranges, grapes, frozen broccoli, frozen fruit, mixed nuts, lara bars.

The Recipes

Green Chile Turkey Burgers 

Avocado Mousse Spread
Ingredients:
2 avocados
1 tbsp sour cream
1 handful fresh cilantro
1 lime

Directions:
Cut the avocados and remove the pits. Scoop the flesh into a blender or food processor. Add the sour cream and cilantro, and squeeze the juice of the lime into the blender. Blend until desired consistency, scraping down the sides as necessary.


That’s it! Now I’m ready to go for a week full of yummy, healthy food. Be sure to follow along on my instagram to see some of the meal combinations I come up with throughout the week. Thanks for reading, and have a fantastic week friends.

XO,

BFF

One thought on “Meal Prep: Week of 5/22/17

Leave a Reply

