Meal Prep: Week of 5/29/17

I hope you’ll forgive me that I’m a little late on the meal prep post, but you know what they say: better late than never! Obviously the holiday weekend threw things off a little bit, but now it’s back to the “routine”–which isn’t much for me considering I’m still off until next week. I did most of my meal prep for the week yesterday, and I kept it super simple. I decided that I really liked the format of meal prep I did last week with the batch cooking, so I stuck to it this week. I’m not sure if it will work out as well when I start back at my internship rotations, but for now while my schedule is structure-less it’s a great option.

I also really liked the intermittent fasting. I never felt overly hungry and I feel like it helped control cravings, so I’m sticking to it another week. If you’re like “what are you talking about Michelle” then click here to see my post from meal prep last week to see what I’m referring to!

The Plan

Protein/Fats
Eggs
Trader Joe’s chicken sausage
Shredded BBQ chicken
Homemade pesto
Nuts

Veggies
Arugula
Green leaf lettuce
Green beans
Broccoli and Cauliflower mix
Carrots

Carbs
Roasted russet potatoes
Roasted sweet potatoes
Red lentil pasta
Fruit (bananas, strawberries, apples)

I also have some stuff left over from last week that I will use up such as some of the turkey burgers that I froze, mini bell peppers, and hummus.

The Prep

IMG_2274.jpgIMG_2273.jpgIMG_2276.jpg

For my barbecue chicken, I used a little over a pound of chicken thighs from Trader Joe’s. I like to use thighs in the crockpot for shredded chicken because they are fattier and softer than breasts, resulting in a much more moist and tender product.

If you’re unaware, Kansas City is known for its barbecue. I pride myself on the fact that I have tried (almost) all of the big name bbq restaurants here, and my personal favorite is Jack Stack. So it’s no surprise that I chose to use their sauce for my chicken. However, there is another reason I chose this one. Most of the store bought brands of sauce contain high-fructose corn syrup which is a big fat no-no. This Jack Stack sauce does contain a bit of sugar, but it’s natural cane sugar which is better than that nasty corn syrup. Make sure you read labels to avoid buying products with this ingredient in it!!

IMG_2283.jpgIMG_2284.jpg

Next I made some kick ass potatoes. I just roasted these babies with some oil and seasoning (see below).

IMG_2285.jpgIMG_2287.jpg

I tried my hand at some homemade pesto to go with the lentil noodles that I bought from Trader Joe’s. It turned out super yummy and was simple and easy to make.

I haven’t cooked the lentil noodles yet but I’m super excited to try them. They are made from only one ingredient: red lentil flour. They are higher in fiber and protein than regular noodles, plus they have a cool red color so they will make for some really colorful plates this week! And then of course I have the chicken sausages as well which are fully cooked and just need to be heated in a frying pan or microwave.

I also have all of my fresh veggies, which I will probably roast or saute at some point throughout the week or just eat raw.

The Recipes

Shredded BBQ Chicken
To cook the chicken, I just threw it in the crock pot with about 1/2 the bottle of sauce and about 1/4 cup of water and cooked on high for 4 hours. When its done, the chicken practically falls apart anyway but I just took two forks and shredded it all up.

Kick Ass Potatoes
For the regular potatoes, I chopped them into large chunks and tossed them with a garlic flavored olive oil, salt, pepper, Italian seasoning, garlic powder, and paprika. For the sweet potatoes, I tossed them with regular olive oil, salt, and pepper. Then I placed them all on a foil lined baking sheet and roasted at 450 degrees for ~30 min, tossing them halfway through cooking.

Pesto
Ingredients:
1 cup fresh basil
1/3 cup parmesan
3 cloves garlic
3 tbsp pine nuts
1/3 cup olive oil
Salt & pepper to taste

Directions:
Combine basil, parmesan, garlic, nuts, salt, and pepper in a food processor. While the motor is running, slowly add the olive oil until well combined. Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to a week.


Looking forward to another week of good eats 🙂 As always, if you liked this post be sure to like, comment, and follow me for more content like this! Also be sure to check out my instagram for some of the meals I make out of this stuff throughout the week! Thanks for reading friends and may you all have a blessed week.

XO,

BFF

 

 

Leave a Reply

